The TRADE announces Leaders in Trading 2021 awards winners

Over 260 industry leaders gathered at The Savoy hotel in London to celebrate their achievements throughout the year.

By Editors

The TRADE is pleased to announce the winners of this year’s Leaders in Trading awards, with the recipients honoured at a ceremony held last night at The Savoy, London.

Over 260 industry leaders joined The TRADE in a sold-out room to recognise the year’s leading individuals and firms within the industry, with 35 awards handed out across buy-side, editors’ choice, algorithmic trading and EMS categories.


Input for the coveted Buy-Side awards was opened to the industry after a lengthy period of industry consultation prior, and The TRADE received nearly 1,200 votes across the six award categories. This year, Laimonas Staskus of BlackRock and Alex Jenkins of Polar Capital were named trader of the year for long-only and hedge funds, respectively.

Federated Hermes received the trading desk of the year award, while State Street Global Advisors won the award for multi-asset desk and Jupiter Asset Management received a honour for its mid-cap trading.

Stéphane Marie-François of Unigestion received an award for buy-side market structure.

This year’s prestigious Lifetime Achievement award for the buy-side was handed to Jeremy Ellis, head of European equity trading at T. Rowe Price, in recognition of his contributions to the industry over the past 40 years, with more than 20 of those spent with the asset manager.

Laimonas Staskus of BlackRock named Trader of the Year (Long Only)

Nikki Beattie, founder and managing director of Market Structure Partners and prominent industry figure, was honoured with the Editor’s Choice Lifetime Achievement award for the sell-side, recognising her 25 years of experience and illustrious career in financial markets. Her previous roles have seen her work at Merril Lynch, the Financial Conduct Authority and Kepler Cheuvreux.

The Editors’ Choice categories are always highly competitive, and this year proved no different. Across the 14 awards, this year’s winners – as judged by The TRADE’s editorial panel – were all worthy given their achievements over the past 12 months.

Hedge fund trader of the year Alex Jenkins of Polar Capital

In the trading venues arena, Turquoise, SIGMA X MTF Goldman Sachs, Dealerweb Tradeweb and Euronext FX each took home awards, while Parameter Solutions, TP ICAP claimed the award for outstanding market data provider.

FlexTrade collected the outstanding trading technology provider award and, this year, FINBOURNE Technology were crowned FinTech of the year, in the category supported by Instinet.

Within the Algorithmic Trading & EMS categories  -which are based on the results of The TRADE’s annual surveys – there were several firms that took home multiple awards. Exane BNP Paribas took home two honours from the algorithmic trading category, overall outperformer and best access to market. Berenberg also received two awards in the algorithmic trading category, best ETF capabilities and best customer support.

Meanwhile in the EMS category, FactSet Portware and Virtu Triton both received two awards. FactSet Portware won accolades for best market access and best platform reliability, while Virtu Triton took home the awards for best platform adaptability and overall outperformer.

Prior to the Leaders in Trading awards dinner, The TRADE also recognised this year’s Rising Stars of Trading and Execution, 20 of the buy-side’s up and coming talents of the future. The ceremony for the Rising Stars marked the seventh annual event, with many of the previous year’s winners now earning nods within the Leaders in Trading categories.

Congratulations to all of this year’s winners:

Algorithmic Trading Awards


Best trading performance


Best access to market

Exane BNP Paribas

Best price improvement capabilities

Kepler Cheuvreux

Best FX capabilities

RBC Capital Markets

Best large-cap provider


Best ETF capabilities


Best dark pool capabilities


Best customer support


Overall outperformer

Exane BNP Paribas

EMS Awards


Best market access

FactSet Portware

Best platform adaptability

Virtu Triton

Best platform consistency


Best platform reliability

FactSet Portware

Best user experience


Overall outperformer

Virtu Triton

Editors’ Choice Awards


Outstanding exchange group

Cboe Global Markets

Outstanding equities trading venue


Outstanding dark trading venue

SIGMA X MTF, Goldman Sachs

Outstanding fixed income trading venue

Dealerweb, Tradeweb

Outstanding FX trading venue

Euronext FX

Outstanding derivatives exchange group


Outstanding alternative liquidity provider

Jane Street

Outstanding post-trade services provider


Outstanding market data provider

Parameta Solutions, TP ICAP

Outstanding trading technology provider


Broker trading desk of the year


FinTech of the year (Sponsored by Instinet)

FINBOURNE Technology

Lifetime Achievement

Niki Beattie

Buy-side Awards (in partnership with Six Swiss Exchange)


Trader of the year (long-only)

Laimonas Staskus, BlackRock

Trader of the year (hedge fund)

Alex Jenkins, Polar Capital

Trading desk of the year

Federated Hermes

Multi-asset trading desk of the year

State Street Global Advisors

Mid-cap trading desk of the year

Jupiter Asset Management

Buy-side market structure

Stéphane Marie-François, Unigestion

Lifetime Achievement

Jeremy Ellis