The TRADE announces Leaders in Trading 2022 award-winners

Almost 300 industry leaders gathered at The Savoy hotel in London to celebrate their achievements throughout the year.

By Editors

The TRADE is delighted to announce the winners of this year’s Leaders in Trading awards, with the recipients honoured at a ceremony held last night at The Savoy, London.

Nearly 300 industry leaders joined The TRADE in a sold-out room to recognise the year’s leading individuals and firms within the industry, with 36 awards handed out across buy-side, editors’ choice, algorithmic trading, EMS and fintech categories.

Input for the coveted Buy-Side awards, awarded in partnership with SIX Swiss Exchange, was opened to the industry after a lengthy period of industry consultation prior. This year, the highly anticipated award for Trader of the Year went to Grainne O’Connor of Fidelity International.

UBS Asset Management, headed by Stuart Lawrence, took home the award for Trading Desk of the Year. Meanwhile, Liontrust and Ninety One received the awards for Multi-Asset Trading Desk of the Year and Fixed Income Trading Desk of the Year, respectively.

In another individual award recognition, Simon Steward of Capital Group, was honoured with the Buy-Side Market Structure Expert of the Year award.

This year’s prestigious Lifetime Achievement award for the buy-side was handed to Baring Asset Management’s Louisa Paul, in recognition of her contributions to the industry, with more than 20 years spent with the asset manager.

The Editors’ Choice categories are always highly competitive, and this year proved no exception. Across the 14 awards, this year’s winners – as judged by The TRADE’s editorial panel – were all worthy given their achievements over the last year.

In the trading venues arena, Aquis Exchange, Cboe BIDS Europe, LedgerEdge and LSEG (Refinitiv FXall) each took home Oustanding Trading Venue awards, while Cboe Global was crowned overall Outstanding Exchange Group. big xyt claimed the crown for Outstanding Market Data Provider, and elsewhere,  Instinet collected the Outstanding Trading Technology Provider award.

This year, Appital was crowned FinTech of the Year, in the category supported by Instinet.

Within the Algorithmic Trading & EMS categories – which are based on the results of The TRADE’s annual surveys –  several firms took home multiple awards. Bernstein won two honours from the algorithmic trading category: Best Trading Performance and Best Price Improvement Capabilities. Berenberg also received two awards in the algorithmic trading category, Best Customer Support and Consulting, alongside Best Client Service. Another double winner within the algorithmic trading category was BNP Paribas Exane, which was honoured with the Best Large-Cap Provider and Best User Experience awards. Meanwhile in the EMS category, Virtu Triton received two awards; Best Market Access and Best Platform Reliability.

Prior to the Leaders in Trading awards dinner, The TRADE also recognised this year’s Rising Stars of Trading and Execution, 20 of the buy-side’s up and coming talents of the future. The ceremony for the Rising Stars marked the eighth annual event, with many of the previous year’s winners now earning nods within the Leaders in Trading categories.

Congratulations to all of this year’s winners:

EMS Awards


Best Market Access

Virtu Triton

Best Platform Reliability

Virtu Triton

Best Large-Cap Provider

TS Imagine

Overall APAC


Overall Europe


Overall North America


 Algorithmic Trading Awards


Best Trading Performance


Best Access to Market


Best Price Improvement Capabilities


Best Customer Support and Consulting


Best Large-Cap Provider

BNP Paribas Exane

Best Provider – Multi-User Clients

JP Morgan

Best User Experience

BNP Paribas Exane

Best Client Service


 Editors’ Choice Awards


Outstanding Exchange Group

Cboe Global Markets

Outstanding Equities Trading Venue

Aquis Exchange

Outstanding Dark Trading Venue

Cboe BIDS Europe

Outstanding Fixed Income Trading Venue


Outstanding FX Trading Venue

LSEG (Refinitiv FXall)

Outstanding Derivatives Exchange Group


Outstanding Alternative Liquidity Provider

Flow Traders

Outstanding Post-Trade Services Provider


Outstanding Market Data Provider

big xyt

Outstanding Trading Technology Provider


Best Challenger Exchange


Outstanding Innovation in Fixed Income


Best Electronic Trading Initiative

Liquidnet Primary Markets

Digital Asset Player to Watch


 FinTech of the Year


 Buy-side Awards


Trader of the Year

Grainne O’Connor, Fidelity International

Trading Desk of the Year

UBS Asset Management, Stuart Lawrence

Multi-Asset Trading Desk of the Year


Fixed Income Trading Desk of the Year

Ninety One

Buy-Side Market Strcture Expert of the Year

Simon Steward, Capital Group

 Lifetime Achievement

Louisa Paul

 Industry Person of the Year

Robert Barnes