The TRADE announces Leaders in Trading 2019 award winners

Over 250 industry leaders gathered at The Savoy Hotel in London to celebrate their achievements throughout the year.

The TRADE is delighted to announce the winners at this year’s Leaders in Trading awards ceremony, held at The Savoy, London.

With 34 awards across the buy-side, editors’ choice, and algorithmic trading and EMS categories, The TRADE was joined by over 250 industry leaders to recognise the year’s leading individuals and firms within the industry.

Nominations for the Buy-Side Awards were open to the industry and The TRADE received over 750 votes across the six award categories. This year, Cathy Gibson of Royal London Asset Management and Trevor Dobson of Marshall Wace were named trader of the year for long-only and hedge funds respectively.

The trading desk of the year award went to T. Rowe Price, while Hermes Investment Management, JP Morgan Asset Management, SEB Investment Management collected respective trading desk awards for mid-cap, emerging markets and multi-asset.

David Miller, head of European equity trading at Invesco, was awarded the prestigious lifetime achievement award for the buy-side, in recognition of this experience and contributions to the industry.

The Editors’ Choice category are always highly contested awards and this year proved no different. Across the 16 awards, this year’s winners – as judged by The TRADE’s editorial panel – were all worthy winners.

Cboe Global Markets walked away with the outstanding global exchange group award and the outstanding block trading venue award, while London Stock Exchange regained their title for outstanding equities trading venue and Eurex retained the outstanding derivatives trading venue award.

Tradeweb’s co-founder and chief executive, Lee Olesky, was awarded with the Editors’ Choice lifetime achievement award as the fixed income venue celebrated its successful initial public offering earlier this year.

There were three new award categories introduced this year under Editors’ Choice: Outstanding sell-side trading house, outstanding electronic liquidity provider and digital initiative of the year, won by Goldman Sachs, Citadel Securities and Barclays Investment Bank (BARX), respectively.

In the technology arena, Bloomberg once again claimed the award for outstanding market data provider, while newcomer big xyt collected the outstanding TCA provider award and Mosaic Smart Data were crowned FinTech of the year, in the Instinet-sponsored award.

Within the Algorithmic Trading & EMS categories there were several firms that took home multiple awards, which are based on the results of The TRADE’s annual surveys. Bernstein were awarded the algo overall outperformer and also collected the best access to market and best user experience awards, while Portware, A FactSet Trading Solution won EMS overall outperformer, in addition to the best product consistency award.

Prior to the Leaders in Trading awards dinner, The TRADE also recognised this year’s Rising Stars of Trading and Execution, 20 of the buy-side’s up and coming talents of the future.

The photo gallery for Leaders in Trading 2019 winners can found here.

Congratulations to all of this year’s winners:

Algorithmic Trading AwardsWinner
Best trading performanceExane BNP Paribas
Best access to marketBernstein
Best customer support & consultingJefferies
Best user experienceBernstein
Best price improvement capabilitiesExane BNP Paribas
Overall outperformerBernstein
EMS AwardsWinner
Best product consistencyPortware, A FactSet Trading Solution
Best product adaptabilityVirtu Triton
Best customer supportInstinet Newport
Overall outperformerPortware, A FactSet Trading Solution
Editors’ Choice AwardsWinner
Outstanding equities trading venueLondon Stock Exchange
Outstanding fixed income trading venueTradeweb
Outstanding derivatives trading venueEurex
Outstanding foreign exchange trading venueRefinitiv FXall
Outstanding block trading venueCboe LIS
Outstanding global exchange groupCboe Global Markets
Outstanding sell-side trading houseGoldman Sachs
Outstanding electronic liquidity providerCitadel Securities
Outstanding market data providerBloomberg
Outstanding clearing providerEurex Clearing
Outstanding TCA providerbig xyt
FinTech of the year (Sponsored by Instinet)Mosaic Smart Data
Best compliance technologyNasdaq
Innovation in EMSFlexTrade
Digital initiative of the yearBarclays Investment Bank – BARX
Market structure excellence (Sponsored by Plato Partnership)Tom Stenhouse
Lifetime achievementLee Olesky
Buy-Side Awards (Sponsored by London Stock Exchange & Turquoise)Winner
Emerging markets trading desk of the yearJP Morgan Asset Management
Mid-cap trading desk of the yearHermes Investment Management
Multi-asset trading desk of the yearSEB Investment Management
Trading desk of the yearT. Rowe Price
Trade of the year (hedge fund)Trevor Dobson
Trader of the year (long-only)Cathy Gibson
Lifetime achievementDavid Miller