Leaders in Trading 2018: Buy-Side awards shortlists revealed, voting now open

Winners of this year's Buy-Side awards will be announced on 22 November during the Leaders in Trading 2018 ceremony.

The TRADE is pleased to announce the shortlist for this year’s Buy-Side awards. The winners in each category will be announced at the Leaders in Trading 2018 ceremony at London’s Savoy Hotel on 22 November. 

There are two new categories included in this year’s awards: Emerging market trading desk of the year and Market structure excellence, sponsored by Plato Partnership. Six of the seven categories listed below are now open to industry voting, which will close on 9 November.

The overall winners of the Buy-Side awards, along with those for the Market structure excellence award and coveted Buy-side lifetime achievement award, will be decided by a judging panel composed of The TRADE editorial team, the London Stock Exchange and the Investment Association, taking into account industry nominations.

Shortlists for the Editor’s Choice and Algorithmic Trading & EMS awards have already been published.

Visit our event page here for more information, to book your place and to submit nominations for this year’s Rising Stars Awards, which closes on 19 October.

Trader of the year (long only)

Yaz Arikan, Cedar Rock

Greg Dalley, Schroders

Cathy Gibson, Royal London

Neil Joseph, JP Morgan AM

Victoria Kelly, Fidelity

Nancy McCartney, BlackRock

Trader of the year (hedge fund)

Neil Bond, Ardevora

Rob Catterall, Man Group

Trevor Dobson, Marshall Wace

David Sutton, Citadel

Christine Majdalani, Sycomore

Gilles Stuttgen, Alken

Trading desk of the year

Amundi (Antoine Mathon/Gianluca Minieri)

BlackRock (Nancy McCartney)

DWS/Deutsche Asset Management (Vincenzo Vedda)

Fidelity Investments (Victoria Kelly)

Hermes IM (Dan Nicholls)

JP Morgan Asset Management (Neil Joseph)

Multi-asset desk of the year

Allianz Global Investors (Matthias Mueller)

Groupama AM (Eric Heleine)

SEB (Andreas Wollheim)

SYZ (Valerie Noel)

Unigestion (Stéphane Marie-Françoise)

Union Investment (Christoph Hock)

Mid-cap trading desk of the year

Invesco (Gordon Wood)

Janus Henderson (Brian Demain)

M&G (Dermot Dunphy)

Old Mutual Global Investors (Daniel Nickols)

Royal London AM (Henry Lowson)

Schroders (Andy Brough & Jean Roche)

Emerging market trading desk of the year

Amundi (Yerlan Syzdykov)

Barings (Simon Lashmar)

Invesco (Dean Newman)

Investec (Peter Eerdmans & Werner Gey van Pittius)

Janus Henderson 

Sloane Robinson (Jason Reeve)

Market structure excellence (Sponsored by Plato Partnership)

Paul Battams (BlackRock)

Rebecca Healy (Liquidnet)

Mehrin Karim (RBCCM)

Sebastian Klatt (Jefferies)

Tim Miller (Fidelity International)

Adam Mingos (FMR)

Anish Puaar (Rosenblatt Securities)

Jason Rand (Mirabaud Securities)